I joined Twitter about 3 months ago.  I did it mostly just to see what it was all about.  People are always talking about twitter this and twitter that, tweet this and tweet that.  I felt like I was missing out.  I was.  And I wasn't.

I have come to enjoy the 15 minutes I have added to my before-bedtime ritual as I glance over the latest tweets of the few educational gurus I'm following.  Twitter has provided me with yet another way to have lots of information at my fingertips.

The difficult I've been having with Twitter is decided what to tweet myself.  Who could possibly care what I have to say?  So I've been quietly consuming the ideas of others over the past few months.  And I've been having fun doing that.

But it's time to step it up a notch.

My colleagues and I were planning a trip with our students to see Rob Stewart's new documentary, Revolution.  The film has its own Twitter account.  That knowledge was enough to get my mind rolling.  How could we get the students connected to this movie and the message in it?  How could we get the students talking with each other, both within their respective classes and between classes?  How could we let Rob Stewart, the film's young director, know that we are supporting him and his cause?  The answer to all these questions was one simple word: Twitter.

So that's been our (my colleagues and I) challenge for the week.

All our students received written permission from their parents to sign up for Twitter.  They've all created an "educational" account . . . we talked about what the difference might be between a personal account and a school account.  And today they started tweeting.  It's been crazy!  And fun!  The studen

The students (and I) are still learning, but we're engaged, motivated, and conversing in a meaningful way.



Leave a Reply.