I've been reminded this weekend of some of the challenges that come with technology.

A number of our students have discovered a "trolling" site where they can post and answer anonymous questions to others.  It's become a treasure trove of inappropriate language, exclusion practices, and hateful propaganda.  And, to be honest, having it brought to my attention and reading through many of the comments my students have made has really shaken me.

A large part of integrating technology into the classroom is providing students with the opportunity to learn how to use the technology effectively and productively.  I want my students to be good digital citizens.  Actually, what I want is for my students to be good citizens . . . and I want those behaviours to stretch online as well.

In the aftermath of the Ask.fm fiasco, my students and I have had many conversations about the public nature of posting on the internet, the permanent nature of posting on the internet, and the fact that it seems so easy to write something down on the internet even when one would never say it aloud.  We've discussed what it means to have an online presence and how our online persona tells others about the type of people we are.

It's been a rough week for me.  And a learning experience for us all.



Leave a Reply.