Picture
Yesterday I attended my very first edcamp.

Whoa.

Who knew that there were so many eager teachers willing to give up a Saturday to meet with people they don't even know and have challenging and invigorating conversations about education?!

I can't even describe the energy at Ancaster Senior Public School yesterday morning.  It was frenetic.  And I was a part of it.

I was excited about going - mostly just to see what it was like.  But I would be lying if I didn't say I was a bit skeptical at how the day would actually run.  No set topics.  No speakers.  Pretty much a free for all.

I surprised myself at how much I actually participated in the conversations that were going on.  I often felt like I had something to add to the conversation, and I was engaged in the discussions happening.

Digital Citizenship - I loved hearing what @acampbell99 had to say.  His comments mirror my own thinking exactly.  He was adamant that we shouldn't be talking so much about digital citizenship.  Instead, we should just be worrying about citizenship.  Online or offline - it's the same thing.

Gamification - There were some really interesting ideas shared here about teachers being game-makers.  I enjoyed @gisforgonzalo 's idea that all you need for a game to happen is a couple of rules.  Any time we implement an activity in the classroom that has a goal and some parameters, we have a game.  My question then is, how do we ensure that our game is going to capitalize on student success?

Inquiry-based Learning - Thanks to @peterskillen for sharing some of his knowledge and expertise surrounding inquiry-based, problem-based, project-based, and tinkering-based learning.  We had some rich discussions in this session about what inquiry-based learning may look like in the classroom (particularly outside of Science).  I enjoyed hearing my colleagues thoughts about scaffolding learning as well.  Are we truly sc

The most exciting part of edcamp: I have 3 new Twitter followers!  :)




Leave a Reply.